Homepage > City Council > Commissions & Committees > Green Ribbon Environmental Committee E-mail storyPrint friendly format
Green Ribbon Environmental Committee

The Green Ribbon Environmental Committee seeks to increase public participation in energy conservation and sustainable practices, helping the City serve the community through advancing environmental policy initiatives and programs. The Committee is supported by the Public Works Department.

The Green Ribbon Environmental Committee advises the City Council on matters related to climate protection, energy, recycling and waste management, sustainability, transportation, and water, as well as environmental and energy goals that are stated in the General Plan and related documents.

The Committee meets quarterly on the third Tuesday of the appropriate month or as needed. 

Irvine City Hall, 1 Civic Center Plaza

Meetings are held at 4:30 p.m.

Meeting Dates for 2018:
Aug. 27, 2018
Nov. 20, 2018

Click to view agendas or minutes

Advisory only.

Appointments by City Council:
Two (2) City Council members appointed by the City Council, one (1) Planning Commissioner appointed by the Planning Commission, two (2) members appointed at-large by the City Council, five (5) members appointed by each City Council member. Currently, the following individuals serve on the Committee:

Councilmember Melissa Fox
(Appointed by City Council)

(Appointed by City Council)

Planning Commissioner Dustin Nirschl
(Appointed by Planning Commission)

Salem Afeworki
(Member-at-Large, Appointed by City Council)

Bemmy Maharramli
(Member-at-Large, Appointed by City Council)

Gang Chen
(Appointed by Councilwoman Shea)

Krishna Hammond
(Appointed by Councilmember Fox)

Norm Kisamov
(Appointed by Mayor Wagner)

John Morton
(Appointed by Councilmember Lalloway)

(Appointed by Mayor Pro Tem Schott)

Note: One Council Appointed and one Committee seat are currently vacant.